Birth Control Trend

Will going off your birth control make you fall out of love with your partner?

There are many kinds of contraceptives out there that are designed to prevent pregnancy, but the most effective is the oral contraceptive. According to suppliers, birth control works 99.7 percent of the time when used properly.

And although birth control works to prevent pregnancy rather quickly, a woman’s body will take a long time to adjust to the pill. Birth control contains serious hormones that prevent ovulation from occurring.  Many women complain of physical symptoms like bloating and cramps, but a lot of women also suffer from emotional symptoms like depression and mood swings. These symptoms may prove to be the source of relationship issues.

Moodiness is one of the most common side affects of birth control because of all the changes the body makes due to the added hormones. Some women say it could take up to 5 months before they start feeling completely normal again. Since birth control is a long-term solution to avoid accidental pregnancy, most women won’t go off the pill until they are married and trying to have a baby.

Is it possible that birth control could change your mood or personality to the point that going off the pill would make you a different person? Its scary to think about because by the time most woman go off their birth control they will most likely be married. Therefore, what happens when you are all of the sudden not attracted to your husband? This could be a contributing factor to the increasing divorce rate.

Katie Russell, 20, doesn’t think going off of her birth control was the reason she broke up with her boyfriend.

“I was on birth control for like 2 years and then I went off of it for like 6 months, and I didn’t want to have sex with my boyfriend when I went off the pill at all, but I think that’s just cause we weren’t right for each other, not because I went off my birth control.”

22-year-old Kelsey Jungfer doesn’t buy it either. She refuses to believe that there is any medication you could go on or come off of that would change the way you feel about your partner.

“It definitely affects you physically, your boobs get bigger and you feel fatter, but I don’t see how there’s any way that being on or off birth control changes how you feel about someone. It’s not an intense medication; it doesn’t alter your personality.”

Although both Katie and Kelsey don’t think personality change is possible, it could be the long-term use of the medication among more mature users that is causing the major changes. When you are used to being on a medication that puts you in a certain mood, you could adapt to this state of mind.  If treatment were to come to an abrupt end, it could change the way you think or feel about certain things or people, such as your husband or boyfriend.

25-year-old Shea Stevenson expressed some concern in the possibility of this occurring in the future.

“I have been on birth control for 6 years now, so my boyfriend of 2 years has only really known me when I have been on the pill. I wouldn’t say going off the pill would change my personality, but I know for me personally it severely affects my mood and the chance of it causing stress on my relationship once I stop taking it is a possibility.”

The side affects are different for everyone and more or less extreme, but there is no real way to tell how going off birth control will affect you until you stop taking it yourself. Just as the side affects are different for everyone the possible relationship complications will vary for each couple.

About pfox1829

I am a 20 year old student at Flagler College in St Augustine Florida. I am an English major with a creative writing minor. I love to read, and write creative fiction stories. I am also very interested in film. On my spare time, I play sports, surf, and sleep.
This entry was posted in Trend Stories and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

